Foundation Stones For DU's Two Student Facilitation Centers Have Been Placed

The new centres in Najafgarh and Bawana aim to help students from rural and remote regions by providing them with papers such as mark sheets, migration paperwork, and other documents at local places, as well as inquiry counters to help them with university-related issues.

Delhi University acting Vice-Chancellor PC Joshi on Thursday laid the foundation stones for two student facilitation centres in Najafgarh and Bawana, according to a statement. 

In a related development, two foreign faculty members have been appointed as adjunct faculty in Delhi University. "Prof Christine H. Foyer of the University of Birmingham and Prof Ralph Chill of TU, Dresden have been appointed as Adjunct Professor in the University of Delhi for a period of one year. They will contribute to the academic and research activities through the VAJRA Faculty scheme of SERB, GOI," the university said in a tweet. 

In a statement, the university said the foundation stones for two "student facilitation centres" at Roshanpura village (Najafgarh) and Bawana in presence of Prof Balaram Pani, Dean of Colleges, Prof Suman Kundu, Director, South Delhi Campus, Dr Vikas Gupta, Registrar, Girish Ranjan, Finance Officer and Anupam Srivastava, Chief Engineer.

"These centres will facilitate students of rural and far off areas by providing them documents like marksheets, migration and other documents at their nearby locations as well as inquiry counters to guide them related to university matters. This will save time and energy of students by avoiding travel to North and South Campus of University. This is the part of “University at your door” initiative of the University of Delhi," the statement said.

The facilitation Centres will be completed by this year-end having built-up area of 120 sqm each. These centres will start functioning from January 2022 and university is also planning to open college and academic departments at these university lands in future, it said. The names of these centres are yet to be decided.

The academic council of the university, in its meeting held last month, had decided that the name of these colleges/centers may be given after the names of Sushma Swaraj, Swami Vivekananda, Veer Savarkar, Sardar Patel. The Council also suggested the names of Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Savitri Bai Phule, Arun Jaitley, Choudhary Brahm Prakash and CD Deshmukh. The Council had authorised the vice-chancellor to finalize the name.



Around The World

Our Publications