NIT Rourkela Hosts 18th Convocation

The Chief Guest for the event President Ram Nath Kovind appreciated the institute for enrolling students from 33 out of the total 36 States and Union Territories of India.

The President of India Ram Nath Kovind graced the 18th Convocation of NIT Rourkela as Chief Guest on 21st March 2021 (Sunday) and delivered the convocation address. The convocation function was held in the Bhubaneswar Behera Auditorium of NIT Rourkela.  

Governor of Odisha Ganeshi Lal, Minister for Petroleum & Natural Gas and Steel, Government of India, Dharmendra Pradhan and Minister of Health & Family Welfare, Government of Odisha, Naba Kishore Das, Member of Parliament (Sundargarh), Jual Oram also graced the convocation event as Guests of Honour. 

Congratulating the institute and students of NIT Rourkela on the 18th Annual convocation of the institute, President Kovind said, “As the 2nd largest Government-run Technology Institute in Eastern India, NIT Rourkela has made a significant contribution to the field of engineering and technology." He urged students to "Do what takes you closer to your aspirations; never judge your success only in terms of material gains. You don’t have to limit yourself by the pressures of conventional notions of success and societal pressures. You need to figure out what you really want to do in your life." 

The President appreciated the institute for enrolling students from 33 out of the total 36 States and Union Territories of India and for students of 17 different countries also enrolled in various academic disciplines in the Institute. He also highlighted his delight in noticing that the institute has 21 per cent girl students and that 3 out of the 6 institute Gold Medal winners were girl students of the institute.  

The degree/medal/award details at NIT Rourkela’s 18th Convocation are as follows: 

  • Honorary DSc degree conferred to 3 eminent persons of the country – Dr Kumar Mangalam Birla, Dr Pramod Kumar Mishra and Shri Sitakant Mahapatra  

  • 6 institute gold medal and 1 endowment gold medal were given to students by the President of India. 

  • 70 silver institute medal awardees also received their degrees.  

  • 8 alumni were conferred with Distinguished Alumnus Award–2020.  

Prof Animesh Biswas, Director, NIT Rourkela said, “NIT Rourkela aspires to be even a greater Institute of higher learning soon.  I request this august gathering to allot 140 acres of land from SAIL in the vicinity of our campus so that we could expand research in Medical Science and Technology."

Congratulating the students who have been awarded their degree today, the Director added, “My dear outgoing students: I am certain you will be the great leaders in your own areas to prove the best name of this eminent institute and with your future success and our efforts, the National Institute of Technology Rourkela will fulfil the dream of our nation.” 

Further details 

List of 7 Gold Medal Winners  -  2020  (Institute and Endowment)  

1. Institute Gold Medal for Best Graduate (B Tech and B Arch) - RISHABH BAJAJ, Civil Engineering 

2. Institute Gold Medal for the Best Postgraduate (M Tech) -  KAJAL AGRAWAL, Signal and Image Processing 

3. Institute Gold Medal for the Best Postgraduate with Dual Degree B Tech and M Tech.  SUBHADRA SUBHADARSHINI, Transportation Engineering 

4. Institute Gold Medal for the Best Postgraduate with Integrated M Sc Degree - SATTWIK SADHU, Physics 

5. Institute Gold Medal for the Best Postgraduate (M Sc and MA),  SRIJA ROY, Life Science 

6. Institute Gold Medal for the Best Postgraduate (MBA) - KRISHNA KUMAR JAISWAL, School of Management 

7. Snigdhashri Patra Memorial Gold Medal for the best Ph D Thesis of 2019-20 -  MD MERAJ, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering 

Department wise list of 1470 degrees (753 UG, 599 PG, 118 PhDs) are listed below: 

B Arch 


B Tech 


Dual Degree B Tech & M Tech 


Int MSc (5 year) 


M Tech 


M Sc 






M Tech – Research 

Ph D 


Tags assigned to this article:
NIT Rourkela Convocation Ceremony

Around The World

Our Publications