Dr Anurag Batra Honoured With ‘Young Leader’ Award

Stalwarts and achievers who have brought a difference with their unstinted efforts were acknowledged at MREA 2019.

Dr Anurag Batra honoured with 'Young Leader' Award at MREA 2019.
D.P Singh, UGC, Chairman speaking at the MREA 2019.

The third edition of Manav Rachna Excellence Awards (MREA) 2019 honoured Dr. Anurag Batra, Chairman and Editor in Chief, BW Businessworld, with ‘Young Leader’ Award.

MREA 2019 was bestowed across eleven genres to stalwarts and achievers for their exceptional and path-breaking vision by Dr D P Singh, Chairman, University Grants Commission.

Expressing his gratitude upon receiving the award, Dr Batra thanked his mentor Dr Pritam Singh and said, “I am happy and humbled to receive this award and my journey has just started”.

Padma Shri Dr Pritam Singh also stated that these awards will encourage the aspiring students and professionals to excel in their field and be the leaders of tomorrow.

The glittering ceremony was held in the presence of Satya Bhalla, Chief Patron, MREI; Dr. Prashant Bhalla, President, MREI; Dr. Amit Bhalla, VP, MREI; Dr. Sanjay Srivastava, MD, MREI; Dr. N C Wadhwa, DG, MREI; Padma Shri Dr. Pritam Singh, DG, MREI; P Dwarkanath, Ex-Director HR, GSK; H K Batra, Chairman, Perfect Breads; Ravi Vasudeva and veterans from the industry.

Congratulating the winners, Dr D P Singh said, “Success has a few common characteristics which are very evident from the profiles of the revered recipients of the Awards. Each one of them possesses the rare traits of humility, teamwork, problem solving and leadership”.

The selection of the awardees was based on a scientific and democratic way with a ‘rigorous’ opinion poll. 

Dr Sanjay Srivastava in his welcome address said, “The assessment process is one of the most robust of any award. A rigorous opinion poll amongst our elite selection committee led by Padma Shri Dr Pritam Singh; S Y Siddiqui; S K Roongta; Kishore Jayaraman; P Dwarkanath with several other corporate and academic leaders was conducted to determine the role models within various domains”.

The stalwarts who were honoured on this prestigious platform are revered figures, among them were:

Sports Icon Award: Padma Shri Deepa Malik (Shot put silver medalist at Paralympics, Rio 2016)

Young Leader Award: Dr Anurag Batra, Chairman and Editor-in-Chief, BW Businessworld

People Builder Award: Harbhajan Singh, Director General & Corporate Affairs, Honda Motors

Global Thought Leader Award: David Coleman, President and CEO, College Board, USA

Corporate & Industry Award: Kanwal Jeet Jawa, CEO and MD, Daikin India

Change Maestro Award: Dr Anil Sahasrabudhe, Chairman, AICTE

Nation Building Award: Atul Sobti, Chairman and MD, BHEL

Faridabad Industry Icon Award: K.C. Lakhani, Chairman, Lakhani Armaan Group

Lifetime Achievement Award: M. Damodaran, Ex-Chairman, SEBI/ UTI

Special Achiever Awards: Team Caeli (Akash Bhadana, Vasu Kaushik, Bharat Sundal, Dipesh Narwat, Ishlok Vashistha and Umesh Dutta)

Special Achiever Award: Ashlesha Sharma

Manav Rachna Alumni Awards: Roopam Sharma and Abhilasha Sharma

Manav Rachna Excellence Awards, organized annually were instituted in April 2017 to carry forward the rich legacy of its visionary founder Dr O P Bhalla who worked ceaselessly to promote quality education.

Around The World

Our Publications