IIT Guwahati Director TG Sitharam Becomes AICTE Chairman

He will take charge from chairman of UGC Jagadesh Kumar

TG Sitharam, director of IIT-Guwahati, has been appointed as new chairman of the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), the Ministry of Education stated on 22 November 2022, Tuesday.

He will take charge from M Jagadesh Kumar, chairman of University Grants Commission (UGC) who has been holding interim charge of the post for the technical education regulator after Anil Sahasrabuddhe superannuated on 1 September 2021 upon turning 65.

The MoE stated in an official notification, “The Central Government hereby appoints, Prof TG Sitharam, Director, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati, as Chairman, AICTE for a period of three years from the date of assumption of charge or till attaining the age of 65 years or until further orders, whichever is earliest.” 

He had taken over as the director of IIT-Guwahati in July, 2019.

Before that, Sitharam was a professor at the department of civil engineering, Indian Institute of Science (IISc) Bangalore, after a stint as the chair professor in the energy and mechanical sciences at the institute.

He has served at the IISc for a period of around 27 years. 

Tags assigned to this article:
iit guwahati director TG Sitharam aicte chairman

Around The World

Our Publications